ABC says bye bye to Canadians Print

Today, as a WEKCBA official, I received this mail from the ABC. It's addressed to Association Officials and it's all done up nicely on official ABC letterhead.

I immediately felt the need to share this with all Canadian bowlers. Click "Read more..." below to read the entire letter.

“Dear Association Officials:

As you are probably aware, over the past few years the Canadian Tenpin Federation (CTF) has been investigating the possibility of creating a membership organization for Canadian bowlers.

At its recent Annual General Meeting, the CTF delegation considered and approved a proposal to create a single membership organization to begin servicing the needs of all Canadian bowlers effective Aug. 1, 2004.

ABC respects the sovereignty of Canada to operate its own membership organization and therefore, in accordance with FIQ and World Tenpin Federation policies and procedures, can not operate in Canada unless invited to do so. Because of this, ABC will no longer charter associations or sanction leagues within the boundaries of Canada after July 31, 2004.

ABC supports CTF’s decision and is committed to working with CTF officials to ensure a smooth transition. CTF representatives will be at Bowling Headquarters in August to discuss transition and support issues. Following that meeting, we will be in a better position to provide more information.

ABC will continue to provide services to its Canadian associations and sell membership through the 2003-04 season.

We encourage you to work with CTF and your counterpart WIBC and YABA associations to meet the CTF transition time lines. Please contact CTF President Stan May at (403) 381-2121 or by e-mail at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it for more information regarding its time lines and requirements.

Finally, we look forward to a continued relationship with CTF as we both work toward helping stimulate the growth of tenpin bowling.


Signature appears here

Roger Dalkin
ABC Executive Director”